January 2019 MahoganyBooks Children’s Bestsellers

January 2019 MahoganyBooks Children’s Bestsellers
#1 – Yoruba Mythology Coloring Book by Nzinga-Christina

Yoruba mythology is often studied and yet many questions remain about the ancient gods and goddesses, or Orishas, of West Africa.

As the Orisha stories were passed down orally through the centuries, there evolved many variations of the characters, their name spellings, and their relationships to one another. This coloring book is designed to help you explore answers about their nature while enjoying the relaxation and fun of coloring!  

Plunge into this educational coloring book, featuring:

  • 20 stunning pictures of various Yoruba gods and goddess for you to color
  • Detailed and informative information of the Yoruba faith on every page
  • Text designed to help relax and inspire
  • For adults and children
  • Huge variety of styles and designs
  • For artists of all levels, beginner to expert
  • 8.5 x 11 inches book size

#2 – Princess Hair by Sharee Miller

“A welcome new picture book about princesses, Princess Hair is about a variety of styles, textures, and attitudes to be found under the crown. Fun for any reader and particularly well-suited for little princesses of color who will see themselves in the pages.” – Seira Wilson

Princesses with curls wear pearls. Princesses with head wraps take long naps. And princesses with teeny-weeny Afros wear teeny-weeny bows.

Celebrate different hair shapes, textures, and styles in this self-affirming picture book! From dreadlocks to blowouts to braids, Princess Hair shines a spotlight on the beauty and diversity of black hair, showing young readers that every kind of hair is princess hair.

Debut author-illustrator Sharee Miller encourages confidence and pride in this playful, colorful picture book that teaches readers to love every bit of themselves.


#3 – Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

With four starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

“A phenomenon.” Entertainment Weekly


#4 – I’m a Pretty Little Black Girl by Betty K. Bynum

In this first book in Bynum’s planned I’m a Girl Collection, heroine Mia isn’t lacking in self-esteem: “When I see myself in the mirror, I twirl,/ And I yell, ‘I’m a pretty little black girl!’

I’M A PRETTY LITTLE BLACK GIRL! introduces adorable Mia, who wakes with her hair “just-a-going every which-a-ways!” With her abundant energy and joy leading the way, readers follow Mia as she plays with her friends who are all shades, shapes and sizes.

There’s tall Kia, Keisha the reader, Charlotte her best friend, Dina Rose-Marie the artist, Imani the dancer, Anna who loves sports, Ruby the singer, and honey-haired Tracy.

Mia finds that “Pretty” is within herself and her friends, and being pretty is way beyond what the mirror shows.


#5 – Spider-Man: Meet the New Spider-Man by Rory Keane

Miles Morales is just a regular kid from Brooklyn, until a spider bites him and gives him amazing powers! Could he really be the new Spider-Man? 

Based on the critically-acclaimed film Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, this leveled reader introduces Miles Morales as he juggles his normal high school life with the infinite possibilities of the Spider-Verse, where more than one can wear the mask. 

Passport to Reading: Featuring a winning combination of favorite licensed characters and carefully controlled text–reading along or reading alone just got more fun with Passport to Reading! All books include a parent letter, word count, Guided Reading level, and number of sight words. 

Level 2: Reading out Loud: encourages developing readers to sound out loud, includes more complex stories with simple vocabulary. 


(Visited 39 times, 6 visits today)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*