September 2019|MahoganyBooks Children’s Bestsellers

September 2019 | MahoganyBooks Children’s Bestsellers


#1 – I’m A Brilliant Little Black Boy! by Joshua B. Drummond

Finally a gloriously designed and joyful, colorful picture book to celebrate our little Black boys with LOVE!

Meet our newest character, Joshua! He is a little boy who has big dreams and ideas as BRILLIANT as the stars!

With all of his good friends, Joshua’s days are filled with adventures where books, a telescope, a red-superhero cape, rhyming hip-hop verse, twinkling fireflies that light up the magical summer skies above a card board fort in the park― and so much more ― is just what boyhood innocence and imagination is all about.

Kind, smart, creative and always thinking― Joshua learns that through studying, good deeds, working hard and aiming to be brilliant . . . we can really shine!


#2 – Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

With four starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Seventeen-year-old Zaelie, her older brother Tzain, and rogue princess Amari fight to restore magic to the land and activate a new generation of magi, but they are ruthlessly pursued by the crown prince, who believes the return of magic will mean the end of the monarchy. Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.


#3 – Harriet Tubman: Demon Slayer # 1 by David Crownson

When slave owners can’t stop the formidable ninja warrior Harriet Tubman, they call on the help of Vampires, Werewolves, Witches, & Demons to stop her. Harriet Tubman must lead a family of slaves to freedom while battling an army of darkness.

A fictional take on the real life of a conductor on the Underground Railroad, Harriet Tubman, who freed approximately 1000 slaves in her history as one of the nation’s fiercest abolitionists and freedom fighters. Crowson decided to extend that story to include Demons.

“If Abraham Lincoln can fight vampires, why not right?

This first issue jumps right into the story when Caesar Edgefield wakes Venus Edgefield from her bed and tells her that they need to leave. In the dead of night they leave the plantation and meet Caesar’s wife Catherine who has procured a horse and wagon from another plantation. (this isn’t strange because many times slaves were sent between plantations to run errands and retrieve items for neighboring masters). It’s also not strange that masters often hired militia to patrol the roads at night to make sure that no slaves tried to escape.

What is strange is for those patrols to not just kill slaves but EAT them… because vampires.”

Review courtesy of The BlerdGurl


# 3 – Harriet Tubman: Demon Slayer #2 by David Crowner

A stampede of vampires chase Harriet & The Edgefields through the forest. Harriet encounters mysterious loved one from her past.

“Action. There are so many glamour shots in this comic, I want to post half the book in gallery style along with the review. But I won’t. Because you need to go purchase and read it for yourself. The art in this issue is devilishly beautiful. Vazquez’s The minor details like the cotton candy-like bushiness of Venus’ hair or the grotesque features of the vampire pack that’s chasing the Edgefield’s really make the book stand out.

It’s a treat to see. There are also a series of pages used for flashbacks in which all is black and white save for the color red that Burcham really makes shine. This masterful work, and I love style. Top that off with Ellis’ immaculate word balloon placement and long tails for dialogue and you’ve got something special. Every page ramps the action up to another level and there aren’t any low points.”

Review courtesy of IVWall


#5 – What Color Is My World?: The Lost History of African-American Inventors by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, basketball legend and the NBA’s all-time leading scorer, champions a lineup of little-known African-American inventors in this lively, kid-friendly book.

Did you know that James West invented the microphone in your cell phone? That Fred Jones invented the refrigerated truck that makes supermarkets possible? Or that Dr. Percy Julian synthesized cortisone from soy, easing untold people’s pain?

These are just some of the black inventors and innovators scoring big points in this dynamic look at several unsung heroes who shared a desire to improve people’s lives. Offering profiles with fast facts on flaps and framed by a funny contemporary story featuring two feisty twins, here is a nod to the minds behind the gamma electric cell and the ice-cream scoop, improvements to traffic lights, open-heart surgery, and more – inventors whose ingenuity and perseverance against great odds made our world safer, better, and brighter.

(Visited 206 times, 9 visits today)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*